Nov 28, 2012

Adjust Auto-Sync to save power juice

You can configure synchronization options for any of your apps. You can also configure what kinds of data you synchronize for each account. Some apps, such as Gmail and Facebook, Calendar, have separate synchronization settings that provide more fine-grained control. In such cases, the settings you select at the account level are still valid.

For some accounts, syncing is two-directional; changes that you make to the information on your device are made to the copy of that information on the web. Your Google Account works this way. Other accounts support only one-way sync: the information on your mobile device is read-only.

To view the Accounts & sync settings screen described here:
  1. From a Home or All Apps screen, touch the Settings icon .
  2. Under Personal, touch Accounts & sync.
Some apps also have their own settings related to syncing. For example, to control message syncing in the Gmail app, touch Menu icon> Label settings > Sync messages.

Configure general sync settings

  1. Go to Settings > Personal > Accounts & sync.
    • indicates that some or all of an account’s information is configured to sync automatically.
    • indicates that none of an account’s information is configured to sync automatically.
  2. Check or uncheck Menu icon> Auto-sync app data to control whether changes you make to information on your device or on the web are automatically synced with each other.
If you turn off Auto-sync, you need to sync manually to collect messages, email, and other recent information, and won't receive notifications when updates occur. 

If this option is not checked, you may be able to use an application’s tools to sync data manually. You can also sync manually to collect messages, email, and other recent information. Leaving Auto-sync off can help extend your battery life, but will prevent your from receiving notifications when updates occur.

Sync information manually 

  1. Go to Settings > Personal > Accounts & sync. 
  2. Touch the account whose data you want to sync. 
  3. Touch Menu icon> Sync now.

Change an account’s sync settings 

  1. Go to Settings > Personal > Accounts & sync. 
  2. Touch the account whose sync settings you want to change.The Sync Settings screen opens, displaying a list of the kinds of information the account can sync. 
  3. Check or uncheck items as needed.
Unchecking an option does not remove the information from your device; it simply stops it from being kept in sync with the version on the web.
Post a Comment